Leftovers are a beautiful thing.  After a dinner party the other night, I tucked away the extra slices of wheat bread and the last few dollops of whipped cream from dessert.  This morning I used both of them in my breakfast.  The whipped cream wound up in my coffee as well as in the french toast batter.

French toast is one of my favorite quick uses of less-than-fresh bread.  Here is the most basic, everyday way I like do it, but there’s a lot of room for creative variations!

  • 5 average slices of bread, preferably on the dry side
  • 2 eggs
  • milk (or half and half)
  • butter
  • optional mix-ins: cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla, real maple syrup, brown sugar, whipped cream

If it’s just me, one egg works for a couple pieces of toast (and is more than enough for the thin slices above).  Otherwise I usually figure a 2:5 egg to toast ratio.  After beating the egg, I add about the same volume of milk as egg–one of the first kitchen tips my mom ever taught me.  Sometimes I add a bit more milk if the bread is especially dry.  This is the point then where you can add in other things to jazz it up.  This morning I didn’t add quite as much milk and mixed some whipped cream in instead for a slightly sweeter, richer flavor.

After dipping the bread in the egg mixture enough to absorb some of it (but not get too soggy), I put it in a pan with a little butter on medium-low heat…and cook it for a couple minutes on each side until the egg is cooked and it’s golden-brown.  

With a little real maple syrup, fruit sauce, or berries on top you’re good to go!

