After my fill of pastries, red meats, and rich butter and cream sauces these past two months, I must say I’ve been craving some healthy snacks.  So for New Year’s Eve I made roasted red pepper hummus.  I served it with some day old bread from French Meadow Bakery that I toasted in the oven (450 F for about 8 minutes), but it also is great with crackers or pita bread.  Here’s what I do:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans
  • 3 Tbl olive oil
  • 1 lemon or lime (squeezed)
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 1/3 cup roasted red pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. hot chili sauce
  • dash red pepper flakes

Puree these ingredients in a food processor or blender. If it’s not smooth enough after blending for a while, add more tahini or olive oil.  Season to taste.

This also is a great base on wraps.  I made the wrap below by spreading some hummus on a whole wheat tortilla and then putting some spinach, parsley, grilled chicken, and tomatoes on top.  Any other ideas for hummus?

Enjoy!

